Tags

, , , , ,

I decided to go vegetarian on this one, It’s still weird not having meat in a dinner but I don’t mind doing it now and then..

A had a little pastry left from the tart tatin so I made something else that was on my bucket list.

I don’t eat Greggs pasties anymore, they give me hideous indigestion and always look incredibly greasy, but I once had a chicken and vegetable slice from there and apart from the indigestion and oil slick on the bag, I liked the concept.

I knew there wasn’t enough pastry to do exactly what I had in mind, so I had to tweak it a little.
I also had enough filling left over to adapt into a soup.

I decided to go vegetarian on this one, It’s still weird not having meat in a dinner but I don’t mind doing it now and then..

Vegetable slice:

I diced up and boiled some carrot, swede and potato.

In the meantime I softened up some onion, mushroom, peppers, leek and broccoli in butter.veg soften

Then I added the boiled root vegetables and a spoonful of cornflour and made roux

roux

I made that into a really thick sauce using the potato water, then I added some peas and sweetcorn a little milk and a dollop of creme fraiche.

veg mix

I let that cook out and seasoned it with plenty of white pepper and a little salt.

I cut the pastry in two, egg washed one half and baked it for a few minutes just to puff it up a bit

bottom

and then topped it with the vegetable filling

filling

I put the other piece of pastry on the top, egg washed it and stuck it down a bit.

top

and baked the whole thing until it was golden brown.

veg slice

It was delicious, like thick soup in a pasty..

cut slice

I thinned the leftover filling down with some milk to make a soup for lunch..

cuppa soup

I might try that with some beef, it’d be ideal with left over stew..

