Tags

, , ,

I was really pleased with the result, it was just like being at the kebab van, except for the drunk people, I served it with cider and potato wedges for a more authentic experience..

Ages ago I watched an episode of food unwrapped, it was the one where Jimmy Doherty asks: what exactly is in a doner kebab? After going to a kebab manufacturer and helping make a doner, Jimmy is pleasantly surprised by what constitutes a real one and I thought I’d see if I could do something on a smaller scale.

I finally got round to it a few weeks ago and was really pleased with the result, next time I’ll grind the mince even finer, but I think I pulled it off..

Doner Kebab:

doner kebab prep

I whizzed the mince up in the blender along with the spices and some oregano and made it into small thin patties.

make patties

Then I designed a skewer holder which consisted of a wooden skewer stuck in a potato and stood in a pastry cutter..

support

I covered it in foil and then threaded the patties onto it, in a real doner they interleave it with lamb skin, but I wasn’t able to get any, so I couldn’t do that.

on skewer raw

Then I put it in the oven and roasted it, Ideally I would have stood there with my blow torch and rotated it around, but this is the real world, so I didn’t.

cooked

In the mean time I made pepperslaw as I had no cabbage.

pepper slaw

a pitta bread.

pitta bread

and some chilli sauce, which consisted of chilli, tomatoes and peppers cooked with a little tomato puree and water

sauce

Which I strained.

chilli sauce

When the lamb was cooked I sliced it

slices

and packed it into the pitta, covered it in chilli sauce

with chilli sce

and added the slaw.

kebab with slaw

I was really pleased with the result, it was just like being at the kebab van, except for the drunk people,

kebab in pitta

I served it with cider and potato wedges for a more authentic experience..

wedges

That’ll be definitely something I’ll make again.

