Tags

, , , ,

I found a ball of mozzarella in the fridge, it was a few days out of date, but in reality probably had at least another week to go, so I decided to use it up……. I have quite a strong constitution, I took the risk that I wouldn’t die horribly..

Because I hadn’t quite satisfied my tostada (Beans & Chicken) hunger, I decided to make some with chilli mince this time round..

I knew I’d only need half the mince I had, so I made the lot up in anticipation of the next days dinner..

2 of a kind prep

Chilli beef tostadas:

I made a simple, fairly dry chilli with peppers, onion, cayenne and beans..

spicy mince

Then just piled it on some pre warmed corn tortillas, and made a big heap..

stack

Then I put them in the oven to melt the cheese, while they were doing, I added a little left over oxtail consomme to the mince, a squirt of tomato puree

add consomme

and then thickened it with a sprinkling of gravy granules.

thicken gravy

Then I saved it for the next day.

I served the tostadas with guacamole..

They weren’t as hot as I’d have liked, so I remember to stick some chilli powder in the cooling leftover chilli..

with guac

Burrito type thingies:

The next evening dinner really was a doddle, I found a ball of mozzarella in the fridge, it was a few days out of date, but in reality probably had at least another week to go, so I decided to use it up on this, normally I wouldn’t, Mr 5 has a suppressed immune system and I don’t bother to take any chances, but as it was just me and I have quite a strong constitution, I took the risk that I wouldn’t die horribly..

So, spicy mince on a corn tortilla, a few slices of risky mozzarella 😯

mince and chz

Then rolled them up and heated them through in the oven, they caught a little bit, I was upstairs trying to understand itunes, which wasn’t as easy as it was meant to be and forgot about them, when I remembered,I covered them in a bit of salsa I found in a jar in the fridge and the rest of the cheese….

add chz

They were lovely, I think I preferred them to the tostadas, possibly because they were hotter..

melt cheese

I dolloped the remaining avocado over them

burritos done

I managed to eat 2 of the 3, the third one I had cold for lunch and still didn’t die horribly from food poisoning….
Yummy!!

