Tags

, , , ,

What a super, delicious, versatile cheese, I decided to have it plainly baked as it was the first time round..

Seriously, I must have been living in a virtual cave, I’ve only just discovered halloumi, and me being a cheeseoholic and all, I vaguely remember seeing articles about it and if I remember rightly, Thiswasdinner did a post not so long ago, and I kept meaning to try it, then forgot..
At the weekend my very good friend, who is on a Slimming world regime made some slimming world quiches, using ham instead of pastry.

slimming world quiche

they were prepared with something called Quark , which I’d never heard of and  while I was shopping I had a look for some but decided I’d give it a go another day instead, that’s when I remembered to buy halloumi
and I’m glad I did..

What a super, delicious, versatile cheese, I decided to have it plainly baked as it was the first time round..
It’s a bit like a mozzarella textured feta cheese..

Baked Halloumi:

I used up the leftover cous cous and potatoes from the marinated lamb dinner..

halloumi prep

I roasted a few peppers and onions, the potatoes and some mushrooms…

veg

I decided to do a couple of simply baked slices, another slice I wrapped in spring roll pastry, and then made a couple of rolls, which I added some left over turkey to..

rolls

I baked the lot in the oven..

parcel

and served the cheese and parcel on a heap of veggies..

roast veg

It was bloody gorgeous, especially the piece wrapped in spring roll pastry..

chz

as I said, can’t believe I’d never tried it before..

baked halloumi

The next day I reheated the rolls and had them with a salad for lunch..

lunch copy

That is certainly something I’ll be using to cook with more often, If you’ve never had it, get some..

