Tags

, , , , , ,

So instead of bothering to caramelize the apples properly I just stuck them in a dish, on top of some butter and sugar, dowsed them in cider and some mixed spiced

I finally got my mum to come out for lunch with me, I’ve been asking her for ages now and Wednesday there were no excuses, we were meant to go into town in the morning, but I had to go to the hospital.

Unfortunately last Monday we found out that Mr 5’s other hip is broken too and we were having a meeting with the orthopedic team as to what course of action to take, as it turns out, it’s too risky to operate, it could kill him and having almost lost him a couple of weeks ago they weren’t prepared to considerate it at the moment, so they are going to treat them conservatively, which means doing nothing, fortunately my husband is a stubborn bastard and he said that he wasn’t going to let two broken hips get in his way of never walking again, so bring on the physio, his recovery from the lung infection has been nothing short of a miracle, so I have no doubt that over time he will amaze us all again, it’s going to take ages, but we’ll get there.

Anyway I digress, as we were running quite late for town I suggested lunch instead and she agreed..
We went to Cafe rouge and both had croque monsieur, I really must remember to photograph it next time, so by the time dinner came round I wasn’t that hungry, I decided to use up last of the halloumi and the left over chicken from the night before and a roll of pastry I had in the fridge which I had specifically bought to make tart tatin.

Chicken and halloumi mini quiches:

tart prep

It was simply a case of blind baking the mini pastry case, filling it with the chicken and little chopped mushroom and an egg custard, 1 egg and a splish of milk.

Then baked until it was done..

mini quiche

I had it with a massive salad..

salad

I thought while I was at it, I’d use up the cooking apples I had in the fridge for a tart tatin..

As I was peeling the apples I came over all maudlin and thought, why the hell am I making a stupid apple tart for one, it’s not like I can even take any up for Mr 5, he’s being enterally fed via a nasogastrict tube and can’t eat anything, what a waste of time..
So instead of bothering to caramelize the apples properly I just stuck them in a dish, on top of some butter and sugar, dowsed them in cider and some mixed spiced

arrange apples

plonked the pastry on top and stuffed it in the oven..

Not being one for wallowing in self pity for too long, by the time it came out the oven..

cook pastry

I’d pulled myself together and decided that if this didn’t turn out right I’d make it again properly when hubby can eat..

Sadly my phone ran out of charge, so the only photo I took was a rather crappy one the next day when I took the tart up to my mums for her to enjoy..

apple flan

It tasted better than it looked..
and I will make more of an effort next time..

