Tags

, , , ,

Obviously the slimming world version didn’t have the prosciutto or Parmesan in it, but as I’m not slimming my version has..

I saw this recipe in my friends Slimming world recipe book, It looked really nice and I decided to make something similar, I bought a piece of haddock about 2 months ago, halved it and put it in the freezer, a week later I took a piece of fish out with the intention of making it the following evening but I didn’t fancy it by then, the next evening everything went tits up and I couldn’t be arsed to cook, knowing the haddock wouldn’t last, I gave it to my mum.
Last week I got the 2nd piece of haddock out, then I didn’t fancy it again, at the time the picture in the book looked really nice but the more I thought about it the more I was put off by the the thought of poached egg on fishy rice, anyway I decided to stop faffing about and bloody well make it before the fish was past it’s best..

Smoked Haddock and prosciutto risotto with a poached egg and Parmesan wafer.

Obviously the slimming world version didn’t have the prosciutto or Parmesan in it, but as I’m not slimming my version has..

risotto prep

I put the undyed smoked haddock into the microwave for 15 seconds, just long enough to easily remove the skin and partially cook and flake the flesh.

skin fish

I cooked some leek and peppers in butter and then added the rice and slowly added the water in the traditional, boring risotto making technique, while it was doing I crisped up some prosciutto

add rice

and then made a parmesan wafer by simply grating a pile of cheese

cheese

and baking it in the oven, when it was done I scooped it off, left it to cool for a moment, the rolled it into a cone and set it aside..

Once the risotto was done I added the fish and gently cooked it for a few minutes..

add fish

I piled the prosciutto onto the risotto,

with prosc

added a poached egg

egg

and then the parmesan cone.

poached egg

and Bob’s your uncle, it was ready..

egg yolk

I have to say it really was nice, I was quite surprised at how nice it actually was, it didn’t resemble a runny egg on fishy rice at all, Mr 5 will really like this one I think..

