Tags

, , ,

it was really nice in a ready meal kind of way, perhaps a touch too salty, but then ready meals always are if you ask me,

A few weeks ago when Mr 5 was really poorly and I couldn’t be arsed to make dinner but knew I had to eat to stay well myself I bought a few ready meals so I could just chuck them in the oven and eat without thinking about it.
One of the meals I bought was a Tesco finest Roast chicken and Panchetta bake, it was really nice in a ready meal kind of way, perhaps a touch too salty, but then ready meals always are if you ask me, my presentation left a lot to be desired though..

chix bake

I decided that when I could be bothered I’d make it myself and I did, so this is my version, it was quite simple to make and I’m calling it

One pot chicken bake:

Instead of a gruyere cheese sauce I used Port salut and I added leeks and mushrooms to mine just to cheer it up a little bit..

chix bake prep

I made a cheese sauce using half skimmed milk and half fat creme fraiche which I had in the fridge that needed using it and browned some baby pearl potatoes in a pan.
I put a layer of sauce in the bottom of my dish and stuck a chicken breast on top.

chz sce

then I covered that with more sauce and piled on some leeks, mushrooms and prosciutto

add leeks

added the potatoes.

add pots

a few cubes of cheese and seasoned it, then I baked it in the oven for half an hour.

baked

It was relatively simple to make, and turned out brilliantly..

chix bake

I ate it straight from the dish, I must say mine was far nicer than Tescos and definitely a method I’ll use for something else, perhaps with a tomatoey sauce next time..

 

 

