Tags

, , ,

I’m going to make a concerted effort to try something new every week I think, this was a start, I don’t expect to like everything,

I made these quite a while ago, it was the day before I made Taquitos because it was the first time I’d ever eaten Chayote, I had it raw, it was earthy, all right, nothing special, like a cucumber/pear time thing.
I’m going to make a concerted effort to try something new every week I think, this was a start, I don’t expect to like everything, I shall cook what I have left and see if it tastes any better…

chayote

Anyway I put it in a simple salad to have with the kebabs.

salad

I got the idea for these out of a food magazine my mum had and decided to add the halloumi as it is my new favourite thing, really quite a quick dinner…

Sausage and Halloumi kebabs:

kebab prep

I boiled the sausages and potato first, so they would be evenly cooked at the end.

boil sausage

Then threaded the skewers.

kebabs

Seasoned them and put them in the oven, I don’t use my grill because it always ends up stinking the kitchen out when it burns off the element..

grilled

and they were that simple, I served them with cous cous

cous cous

They would be ideal for a BBQ

done kebab

