Tags

, , , , ,

so I reduced the quantities, no scientific reasoning behind my method, I just reduced them and hoped for the best..

While I was waiting for my hairdresser to turn up, he was running an hour late, I decided to kill sometime and make a cake, My mum had given me her recipe for a seed cake so I thought I’d make that, Because it’s just me I didn’t want a massive cake that I’d either eat too much of or not eat enough and have to throw it away, so I reduced the quantities, no scientific reasoning behind my method, I just reduced them and hoped for the best..

Seed cake

3oz butter
3oz Caster sugar
1 egg
splash of milk
4oz SR flour
spoonful of caraway seed.
I used the creaming method, sugar, butter, beat in egg and fold in flour.

Cooked it on 180 for about 30 minutes..

I was pleasantly surprised, it was probably the best textured cake I’ve ever made and it tasted lovely..

seed cake

I’m going to make that again, but I think I’ll make a lemon version next time..

While I was at it I made up a small soda bread loaf, I used about 150g rye flour, 5g bicarb and enough creme fraiche to bring it together to form a dough, I must have cooked it for about 25 minutes I think..
It was lovely, quite dense because of the rye flour but tasted delicious, I had a few slices for lunch with some smoked mackerel fillets..

rye bread

As I still had half an hour to wait I made a flat bread dough, by the time I got round to knocking it back later that afternoon I had such a headache I really couldn’t be bothered, so I made some random shapes and stuck it in the oven..

odd bread

Because I had a headache, I think it was the air pressure, it was every so close that day, I couldn’t be arsed to make a thoughtful dinner, I just has sausage, egg and chips..

sausage and egg

Which did the job..

