Tags

, ,

and using the stock made up a sauce which I thickened with some instant mash..

I decided to use up the rest of the rabbit I had in the freezer, the other half I’d used to make a sort of rabbit blanquette, this time round I decided to cook it first, which I did the evening before..

Rabbit in a giant vol au vent:

I put the rabbit in a pot along with some veg, herbs and water and then slow cooked it for an hour or so..

cook

I left it in the pot in the oven over night and the next evening I took the meat off the bone and saved the stock..

rabbit meat

I sweated off some vegetables

cook veg

and using the stock made up a sauce which I thickened with some instant mash..

add stock

to which I added the rabbit, I cooked it out and added a splash of red wine.

rabbit in pan

I made a giant vol au vent using some ready rolled puff pastry.

make vol au vent

Then I just filled the pastry with the filling..

and pot

It was lovely, there was a little too much..

rabbit in pastry

So, using half the left over pastry I made a rabbit pasty..

rabbit filling

which I baked and had for lunch..

rabbit pasty

With the other half of the pastry I made a raisin and mixed spice roll up..

spiced fruit roll up

I had that for breakfast..

