I must remember that these types of spice mixes tend to be very salty and use less, I don’t like salty food and rarely salt anything I eat..

I don’t even remember when I made this, I know it was sometime last week, I think it was Thursday because I went out for breakfast and hadn’t eaten since the morning and was ravenous by dinner time, so I wanted something quite filling..

Red Chicken and lentil biryani

red biryani prep

I decided to use up some of the biryani mix I had lurking in the back of the cupboard from when I made the Malaysian biryani.

I must remember that these types of spice mixes tend to be very salty and use less, I don’t like salty food and rarely salt anything I eat..

I took the chicken off the bone and boiled some lentils to speed up the cooking time.

I fried the onion in some ghee, added peppers, ginger, garlic and the spices, along with some extra chilli

fry

Then I added some basmati rice and the lentils and water I’d cooked them in as well as some bombay aloo I’d had in the freezer for yonks..

add lentils

Let it cook out, added a dollop of yogurt and some spinach

add spinach

and served it with a paratha and an onion and tomato limed relish..

relish

it was lovely, albeit a little salty

red biryani and paratha

I probably ate far too much..

red biryani

but it wasn’t an unhealthy meal..

with relish

