Tags

, , , ,

Which is how I came across this interesting fact and several recipes for cooked watermelon, so ever one to try something new

Watermelon contains Lycopene, which is a carotenoid and phytonutrient, and while it is not an essential, it is a powerful antioxidant and therefore good for you, you can read up yourself on how good it is for you, if you can be arsed..
Lycopene is probably best known for being in tomatoes and the more you cook them, the more Lycopene is produced, and the same goes for watermelon, a melon at room temperature contains more lycopene than a chilled one..
When I was at college many years ago I did a course on food and nutrition and since Mr 5 has been on a liquid Fresubin diet of  vitamins, minerals and trace elements for about 12 weeks now I’ve been refreshing my memory on what is what, I’d forgotten how interesting I found it all..

Which is how I came across this interesting fact and several recipes for cooked watermelon, so ever one to try something new, this is

Ancho spiced lamb with warm mozzarella and watermelon:

lamb and WM prep

I rubbed the lamb steak with some ancho chilli powder, which gives a mild chilli flavour.

While it was basking in the flavours I cooked some anya potatoes, onions and peppers..

roast veg

Then I grilled the lamb..

cook lamb

While that was resting I put the watermelon in the oven for a minute or two, turned it, then added some mozzarella..

warm melon

When it was done I added a few pomegranate seeds

pomagranate

and served it with some salad

pepperslaw

It really was a nice, colourful dinner

ancho lamb

The melon was really juicy, and the juices from the lamb then mixed in with it, and all in all it was a really tasty dinner, I am going to do this with feta cheese soon as I have a load of melon in the fridge still

lamb dinner

Definitely recommend that…

