Tags

, , , ,

All in all it was a resounding success, except for the bit where I dropped my wonderful Spanish glazed dish and broke it..

I made cheese.
Ok, so it was dead easy, but nevertheless, I MADE CHEESE..
I don’t know why I’m so amazed that it worked, why wouldn’t it, I followed the recipe!
I’m not sure why I was so skeptical but I must say I was rather chuffed with the result..

As I said, it was really easy, I heated 1 3/4 pints of full fat milk with 1/4 pt of double cream and some salt, took it off the heat and stirred in 3 tbsp white cider vinegar and one of lemon juice, stirred it until it curdled.

curdle

Strained it through some cheese cloth

strain

and TA DA

ricotta chz

Ricotta cheese.

I decided to use it in a pasta dish..

Tagliatelle with spinach, ricotta and prosciutto:

tag prep

I cooked the pasta and wilted a handful of spinach into it.

add spinach

Then I mixed it up with a dollop of creme fraiche, crispy prosciutto and half the ricotta

add chz

and reheated it, then added some parmesan and walnuts..

tag done

I served it with a garlic bread and onion ciabatta roll

gbread

and it was lovely, I was well pleased with myself..

tagliatte ricotta

A few days later, with the left over piece I decided to make a sort of mac and cheese dish..

I simply mixed the ricotta with some creme fraiche, an egg and a handful of port salut, some streaky bacon and spring onions and added some cooked macaroni and baked it in the oven for 20 minutes..

mac n chz

All in all it was a resounding success, except for the bit where I dropped my wonderful Spanish glazed dish and broke it..

noooooo

Little bit gutted to say the least, I’m hoping I’ll be able to replace it, but on a positive note I bought some rennet and a book on making soft cheese and shall be trying my hand at Halloumi, feta and mozzarella next..

