Tags

, , , ,

and decided to be incredibly indulgent and make some really unnecessary puddings.

I’m very fortunate that my mum has a blackberries growing along the bridle path outside her garden so I don’t have to go far to pick any, she also has a few apple trees in the garden, so blackberry and apple crumble is pretty much already made..

blackberry apples

I simply put them both in a dish, squirted over half a lemon and the scattered over a crumble mix of butter, flour, brown sugar and mixed spice and baked it until it was brown..

crumble

I had some with custard, Mr 5 wanted me to bring him up some, but he’s still on a low residue diet so that rules out the blackberries, I ate some on his behalf instead..

with custard

This morning I thought I’d be hanging about for the washing machine repair man, but he came first call at 8.15 so I had time to kill, I made some pan pizza dough and decided to be incredibly indulgent and make some really unnecessary puddings.

Blackberry and apple crumble custard cakes:

I put spoonfuls of leftover crumble into a muffin tin.

crumble in bottom

half of which I topped with cold custard, after all there is no need to be greedy..

custard

Then I topped the lot with a sponge mixture..

add cake mix

3oz butter
3.5 oz caster sugar
3.5 oz SR flour
2 eggs
all in one method.

then I baked them on 175 until the cake was done..

cakes1

They are nice, too many for just me, so I’ll give some to my mum, seeing as she grew the apples..

2

The only dilemma

Creme fraiche?

cfraiche

Custard?

cold custard

or both?

3

I had mine with creme fraiche, it was totally unnecessary, but justifiable because me and woofboy did do a 9.36 mile trek yesterday afternoon…

creme fraich 1

