Tags

, , ,

to be honest by the time I’d made it, it tasted revolting, I don’t think it was meant to taste revolting though, I tweaked it a bit, added a few other bits and pieces, and you know what, it still tasted bloody awful, like an inferior, no chunk Branston pickle..

I’ve been a bit slack this last week, Mr 5 has been unwell again and I’ve been taking my mind off it all by going on some epic scampers in the afternoons with woofboy, I think I made this on Thursday, I had my lunch at the hospital, Chilli and rice, which was delicious but could’ve done with some cheese on top..

hospital chilli

I love walking this time of year, it’s just becoming a little autumnal, the farmers are harvesting the fields, the buzzards and red kites are wheeling in the skies to see if they can swoop down on any unsuspecting furry woodland creatures and there are blackberries galore to gorge on in the hedgerows.

harvest

Anyway when I got home I decided to finally make Katsu, I’d bought the panko breadcrumbs ages ago for that very reason, it seems to me that katsu is basically breaded chicken with a sauce.

Chicken Kastu:

katsu prep

So I breaded the chicken and put it in the oven with some potatoes and peppers.

coat chicken

and then I made the sauce, I got the recipe on line and to be honest by the time I’d made it, it tasted revolting, I don’t think it was meant to taste revolting though, I just don’t like those sweet, vinegary,salty types of sauces much, I tweaked it a bit, added a few other bits and pieces, and you know what, it still tasted bloody awful, like an inferior, no chunk Branston pickle..

sauce

I dished it up regardless, I added a little manchego cheese to the potatoes..

potatoes

The chicken was lovely, the breadcrumbs kept it really moist..

bake chick

The sauce, as I said, revolting, but I thought I’d try a smidge anyway..

with sauce

but apart from that, it was very nice..

chicken

I saved a bit of the chicken and had it in a salad for lunch the next day..

lunch

