it wasn’t until I was putting the flour away I realised I’d used S.R flour instead of plain,  I wasn’t overly bothered, what’s the worse that can happen?

What seems like forever ago, I made Mr 5 his last supper for what we thought would be 6 weeks, 14 weeks down the line and with no sign of him coming home yet, I decided to use up the remainder of the leg of lamb I’d frozen, I was full of good intentions but seem to have lost motivation this last week so I ended up cobbling together 3 meals out of it,  I didn’t really know what I was going to do until I was making it..

The first one was a sort of Moroccan Lamb pizza.

I made a simple flatbread from a Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall recipe I found online which I adapted to 100g flour, it wasn’t until I was putting the flour away I realised I’d used S.R flour instead of plain,  I wasn’t overly bothered, what’s the worse that can happen?

flat bread

I simply sliced some lamb from the leg, marinated briefly in some Moroccan spices and then chucked it in the oven with some seasoned veggies.

roast lamb and veg

When the bread was done, I piled the lamb and veggies on top.

lamb pizza

and scattered it with feta cheese and pomegranate.

feta

It was nice, the bread was a bit dense but edible.

The second night I just put the remainder of the lamb in the oven, roasted it along with some root vegetables and stuffing and had lamb on vegetables..

roast veg

It wasn’t anything spectacular, but it was bloody tasty.

roast lamb

So with with the final left over piece of cold lamb, I made dim sum lamb, a variation of Jamie Olivers recipe from Monday nights programme..

Dim sum lamb.

Never made this before, wasn’t quite sure how it would turn out, but I decided to have a go..

I don’t have a steamer, so I cobbled together one using a deep sided saute pan, a splatter guard and a casserole dish..

steamer

I halved the recipe and made the dim sum dough from 120g SR flour and 75ml milk.

I mixed the cut up lamb with some chilli, chilli sauce and spring onions and put it in the center of the dough

add lamb

Then formed it into dumplings, I only made four, I cooked the left over lamb mix separately..

shape

I think the dough too thick, but it didn’t seem to matter.

I steamed them in muffin cases for 10 minutes.

steam

and coated them in toasted sesame seeds.

dimsum

OMG!!! they were bloody awesome, the dumpling was light and fluff and I was really surprised that they worked.

I had them with a hoi sin dip and shredded peppers, onion and spring onions.

with hoi sin

and scattered the leftover lamb on top.

xtra lamb

They were so lovely I’m going to make them again, but with a Western twist, so keep an eye out for that..

