Tags

, , , ,

After about an hour I realised I was being over optimistic with time and decided to finish cooking it that evening and use it the following day.

Another idea inspired by Jamie Oliver, I bought a piece of brisket and was going to do a pot roast as per his Mothership recipe, I seasoned the meat.

season meat

browned it in a pan, took it out and browned some carrots and onions, smeared the brisket in English mustard, put it back in the pot, added some wine and stuck it in the oven.

cover in mustard

After about an hour I realised I was being over optimistic with time and decided to finish cooking it that evening and use it the following day.

In the meantime I made up a spinach and prosciutto tagliatelle carbonara

tag

The next day I decided to just make the brisket into steak and kidney, so I bought some kidneys and had a think about what to do that was a bit different and came up with..

Baked steak and kidney suet dumplings:

I took the meat out of the pan, discarded the veg and sauted off some diced kidney, make up a roux and added some beef stock to make a thick sauce, to which I added the meat..

make s and k

When the gravy was nice and thick I left it to cool down and make some suet pastry using 120g flour, 75g suet and a few tablespoons of water.

I divided the pastry into 3, rolled it out into rounds and put a dollop of meat in the center.

add meat

Brought them together into dumpling shapes

shape dumplings

I decided I couldn’t be arsed with the faff of steaming them, so I baked them in the oven with some carrots..

carrots

In the meantime I made up some more gravy

rich gravy

and they were bloody awesome, real comfort food.

suet dumplings with s and k

My only criticism, I forget to add the remaining carrots to the to top, so I ate them from the roasting tin while I was tidying up..

sandkdumpling

I was really pleased with them, they were even nicer than I anticipated.
I only used half the steak and kidney, I put the rest in the freezer with an idea to do something similar using the dim sum bun method..

