Tags

, , ,

I sliced the duck, (after I’d picked it up off the floor) I’d cooked it quite medium, I’ve just got into liking duck, for years I hated it and am not quite at the very pink stage..

This could have been a rather pretentious sounding dinner if it weren’t for the fact that as I transferred the duck breast to the chopping board to slice, it dropped on the floor, bounced a couple of times and I had to pick a dog hair of it, so that pretty much put paid to that description, it didn’t affect the end result in anyway nor detract from the taste, so this is unpretentious duck with cauliflower fritters using leftover cauliflower cheese..

Pan fried duck with cauliflower fritters:

duck prep

I snipped the edges of the duck skin to stop it tightening up and stunting the meat, then put into a cold pan to heat up, I read somewhere that starting duck in a cold pan helps the fat render more easily, I don’t know about that, but it stopped it spitting all over my cooker top..

duck cold pan

once the skin was brown I added a sliced red onion, and continued to cook it on a medium heat, skin side down, lid almost on..

brown duck

In the meantime I mixed the leftover potato and cauliflower cheese from the day before’s dinner and shaped them into rounds

cauli and potato

then I dunked them into batter and put them into a pan in some oil in the oven, I could have fried them but I couldn’t bothered to monitor them that closely as I was trying to think of what to do with the duck at the time..

fritters

Once the onions were browned, I took the duck out and wrapped it in foil and put it to one side to rest..

fry onions

I added red wine, a small pot of my mums homemade blackberry jelly and a couple of quartered figs to the pan

add figs

and gently cooked it out.

I flipped the fritters, then I squished down and removed the figs and added some blackberries to the jus.

add blackberries

I sliced the duck, (after I’d picked it up off the floor) I’d cooked it quite medium, I’ve just got into liking duck, for years I hated it and am not quite at the very pink stage..

slice duck

added the sauce.

with sauce

and along with the cauliflower fritters..

cauli fritters

served it with a huge pile of veggies.

with veg

The fritters were really nice consider I didn’t deep fry them, I thoroughly enjoyed them, they would make a nice vegetarian main meal actually…

cauliflower fritter inside

