Tags

, , ,

it was nice, tiny bit salty, but they always are, I had it with a bread roll because I couldn’t be bothered to do any vegetables.

I have been meaning to make my own burger rolls for ages now and as it was tipping it down on Tuesday and an epic scamper was out of the question, I decided to make dough instead..

I scoured the internet for a recipe which had metric measurements and not cups!! I hate cups, how can you possible get an accurate flour measure from a cup..

Anyway I found this one from completelydelicious , I knew it would be a sticky start so I used my mixer to get it going, but the dough was lovely and it rose beautifully, I made 8 fairly large buns, and sesame seeded 4, the buns were just slightly sweet, which I really liked, so I’m going to make a sweeter version for something soon..

rolls

In the past I’ve made really rubbish bread rolls, but these were perfect, I froze 4.

buns

So I needed something to go in the bun and as I had a piece of turkey in the freezer and some mozzarella in the fridge, I decided to go with that.

I would have been quite simple to have made a turkey burger, but I’ve done that, so this is..

Turkey and mozzarella stack, burger:

turkey stack prep

I sliced the turkey quite thinly, seasoned it and stacked it back together with the mozzarella.

stack meat

Then I put it in the oven and cooked it, I turned it carefully to keep it intact, but the cheese helped.

cook

Towards the end of cooking I added some prosciutto and when it was done I sliced it length ways..

slice meat

I served it on the bun, with some lime pickled red onions..

add lime pickled onion

and some tomato slices

burger

It really was yummy, and made a change from a bog standard burger..

add tomato

I had it with sweetcorn and oven french fries, courtesy of McCain..

turkey burger

That has given me an idea for something else now..

The following evening, I had a right lazy cop out dinner..
I’m not even sure what it was called, I bought two Tesco finest ready meals a couple of weeks ago, buy one get one half price, so I did, and put one in the freezer without the packaging, I got in late and couldn’t be bothered to make anything.

lazy

Ham and potato gratin, with a sort of cheesy leek sauce, it was nice, tiny bit salty, but they always are, I had it with a bread roll because I couldn’t be bothered to do any vegetables…
I will make my own version, I have a ham hock in the fridge that I bought today for just that purpose.

