Tags

, , , ,

It looked more like cous cous actually, which has given me an idea for something else, I might also address my fear of aubergine when I do it.

I stole this idea from Jamie Oliver, Cauliflower rice, who’d have thought..
I don’t usually go totally veggie, more often than not a bit of prosciutto sneaks in there somewhere, but this meal is pretty much there, unless you count the dollop of leftover buttermilk I put in it just to use it up..

I bought a couple of mini veg samosas, a pakora and onion bhajji from Morrisons while I was in there getting some poppadoms, so I’m afraid I can’t claim to have made them too, I wish I’d bought lime pickle while I was at it..

Vegetable and chickpea curry with cauliflower ‘rice’

I gathered together all those bits of leftover veg knocking about in the fridge, along with some mashed potato from the fish croquettes I’d made the other day.

veg curry prep

I browned the onion in ghee, added the potato and softened it a little, then I added some grated ginger, tumeric and garlic.

ginger and turmeric

and decent spoonful of Madras curry powder and some chilli flakes, a little coriander and cumin and cooked it for a bit longer, then I chucked in all the veg, the chickpeas and the water from the chickpeas.

cook veg

and simmered it until it started to soften, then I added the mashed potato

add mash

a glug of passata and some butter milk..

add toms

and let it gently cook out while I blitzed the cauliflower in the food processor.

blitz cauliflower

I put the cauli into a microwavable container with a lid on it and blasted it for two minutes on full, then let it stand for a minute.

cauli rice

It looked more like cous cous actually, which has given me an idea for something else, I might also address my fear of aubergine when I do it.

veg curry

The curry was amazing, it turned out really well..

with breads.

More than impressed with the cauliflower rice, and would definitely recommend it..

curry and rice

Usually if I eat vegetarian I am aware that there is no meat, but this really did hit the spot..

