Tags

, , , ,

It’s a really simple dish, up until the point you start worrying whether you’ll lose your butter, I decided to compensate for that before it had happened

I think I have a ‘man’ head cold.
It’s either the remnants of an allergic reaction I had to the Lavender farm shop on Tuesday or the beginnings of one of those irritating, not quite a cold, colds that is threatening to go down to my chest and give me an asthma attack, I don’t DO ill, and haven’t been for about 3 years so I’m hoping to shake this off before I turn into a snotty mess, one of us has to be the well one..

I’ve been meaning to make chicken kiev for ages, but never bothered because I always thought I’d end up with an ’empty’ center after all the garlic butter had oozed out and disappeared into nowhere, and tended to just get one out of Marks’s, but I decided to make an effort, I made this last Friday before I had a mini break, weekend at my mums..

Chicken Kiev:

chicken kiev prep

It’s a really simple dish, up until the point you start worrying whether you’ll lose your butter, I decided to compensate for that before it had happened and baked it in the oven with some potatoes, then if I did lose any butter it would just melt into them..

So I made garlic butter, stuffed it into a slit in the chicken.

garlic butter

I breadcrumbed it twice.

breadcrumb

and baked it with potatoes, mushrooms and onions..

potatoes

It turned out really well.

chicken kiev

I added some cheese to the baked potato hash.

cheesy baked pots

served it with a simple salad.

salad

and was quite pleased that there was some butter left inside..

cut open

so on the whole, pretty much a success..

cut open

I doubt I’ll make it again, but now I have, I feel quite satisfied..

