Tags

, , , ,

..chopped up some pistachios, cut my thumb and wished I was having fish, chips and mushy peas instead.

About 10 minutes into making this I really wished I just gone to the chip shop on the way home from the hospital, my ‘man’ sniffles had taken hold and I was feeling fuzzy headed from not only that, but all the information we’d just received about Mr 5’s new condition, Crohns and everything else aside, he has a new unrelated diagnosis of a very rare form of adult ricketts called hypophosphatemic osteomalacia, they don’t know much until he has undergone a barrage of test and it doesn’t affect our immediate situation to be honest, it just gives what’s happened a name, 15 minutes into making this I cut my thumb, couldn’t be bothered to get a plaster, so just sort of dripped into a bit of kitchen paper..

So this is my version of Jamie’s lamb kofta.

Crunchy lamb kofta

I made some rubbish flat bread to start off with, it was a bit dense, over cooked on the outside and a bit doughy on the inside…

crunchy kofta prep

Then I stuck the lamb onto a skewer, realised I hadn’t seasoned it and didn’t care, which actually didn’t matter because it turned out I’d lost my sense of taste by about now…

..chopped up some pistachios, cut my thumb and wished I was having fish, chips and mushy peas instead.

I fried off the lamb

cook

and half way through painted it with sweet chilli sauce.

I made an effort and browned some caraway seeds, fennel seeds and the chopped nuts

nuts

and then rolled the lamb in them..

lamb kofta

I served them with red cabbage salad, some straw potatoes and the rubbish flat bread.

salad

Were they nice? well they looked ok, I couldn’t really taste anything even with the extra chilli sauce..

chrunchy kofta

Perhaps I’ll make them again when I feel less under the weather..

