Tags

, , , ,

I opened the dough and had 3 croissants for breakfast, the other half I saved for the evening, I had a wonderful idea, the other idea could wait..

I bought some of that croissant dough in a tin the other day, I’d seen a recipe in a magazine that used it as a topping and decided I’d have a go at it, Friday morning I didn’t get up until 8.30, which is unheard of for me, I’m usually up and out at 6.30, admittedly I didn’t sleep well so I was knackered, Mr 5’s homecoming is being discussed, I should imagine it’ll be a few weeks away yet, but to be honest I’m really apprehensive, it’s going to be a massive transition in our lives, no matter how I look at it, he will still have two broken hips and the implications of that and all the other things are rather overwhelming to consider at the moment, and I kept mulling it over at bedtime..

So anyway when I got back from walking woofboy I opened the dough because I needed a consolation breakfast and had 3 croissants for breakfast, the other half I saved for the evening, I had a wonderful idea, the other idea could wait..

So this is my obligatory get well chicken broth dinner..

Chicken broth with chicken cordon bleu croissant:

I soaked some broth mix pulses (a mixture of peas, lentils, barley and split yellow peas) in a bowl of water for about 6 hours and made chicken stock from the roast chicken carcass.

chix broth prep

While I was softening the veg for the broth in butter, I simmered the broth pulses for about half an hour.

added the two together..

veg and broth mix

topped it up with chicken stock and some bits of chicken leg meat and left it to simmer..

Onto the remaining dough triangles I added chicken breast, emmental and prosciutto..

triangles

and then rolled it up.

roll pastry

and baked it until it was brown..

croissants

I served them with the chicken broth..

chix broth

It was simple, it was tasty, it made my nose run.

chix broth with croissant

I only ate two croissants, I save the other one, along with some broth for Saturdays lunch..

bowl broth

Normally I wouldn’t buy that sort of thing, but it’s only a quid and it’s turning out to be quite versatile..

