Tags

, , , , ,

So I sprinkled it with dried sage and season all, and stuck a whole lemon up it’s bum,

On Thursday, I gave in and indulged my man sniffles, I roasted them a chicken, I don’t usually cook a whole chicken, I’d rather buy it, joint it and freeze it until I want something, particularly as it’s just me at the moment, but I knew I’d be needing chicken broth for my imminent recovery, so I decided that was the way to go, oh and I couldn’t be bothered to cut it up..

Roast chicken and braised red cabbage:

roast lemon chix prep

I decided to season the chicken with a lemon and some sage in the vague hope I’d taste it.

I sprinkled it with dried sage, season all and stuck a whole lemon up it’s bum, I blanched the lemon first, cut it almost in half, added some parsley, a couple of cloves of garlic and some butter..

lemon in chick

Then I put it in the oven.

I prepared some red cabbage and red onion with a splosh of white wine vinegar and a sprinkle of sugar, a little water and some butter

red cabbage

Covered it in foil and put it in the oven along with some leeks I’d added water and butter to.

When the chicken began to brown I added some diced potatoes to the pan..

brown chix

and then some stuffing not long after..

chix and pots

My man sniffles were well impressed, the chicken was moist, juicy and I could just taste the lemon and sage

I served it with the red cabbage and leeks..

braise veg

and then, as is my personal preference, smothered it in bread sauce..

with bread sauce

and obviously there was enough leftover for chicken broth..

