Tags

, ,

because I was going to face my aubergine aversion and didn’t really want to taste it too much the first time round,

After the success of my cauliflower ‘rice’ I decided to do a cauliflower cous cous, it’s exactly the same, except it’s called cous cous and I added a few green beans and Moroccan seasoning to it..

I decided on a tagine, mostly because cous cous goes with it and also because I was going to face my aubergine aversion and didn’t really want to taste it too much the first time round, but you can get such beautiful coloured ones now I just had to buy one. ..

So this is

Vegetable tagine with cauliflower style cous cous.

I simmered the remaining soaked pulses from the chicken broth meal first.

veg tagine prep

I sweated off the red onion, then added some garlic, diced peppers, aubergine, sweet potato and a lovely yellow courgette.

cook veg

and softened them all up before adding ras el hanout, harissa paste, moroccan seasoning and cumin, some tomatoes and parsley.

toms and parsley

Then I added the pulses and the water I cooked them in.

add pulses

gently mixed it up and then simmered it for about 10 minutes.

cook out

In the meantime I blitzed up the cauliflower and green beans, added a little seasoning and then microwaved it, covered for two minutes, just remembering to remove the cling film immediately afterwards so it didn’t absorb the steam and go mushy..

cauli cous cous

I’d made bread rolls earlier, I used the recipe I used for the burger buns, so I saved one for dinner..

bread

and put the left over red cabbage from the chicken dinner earlier in the week in the oven..

When the tagine was done, I served it over the ‘cous cous’..

veg

topped it with red cabbage, pomegranate and chopped pistachios..

with cabbage

it was surprisingly really nice, I’m not sure why I was surprised, but there you go..

tagine

