Tags

, , ,

It was really nice, I did scald my lip on the molten garlic butter oozing out, but apart from that it was a success..

I made dough on Saturday for rolls and saved some with the intention of making a lamb pide, but as I needed to use up the vegetables left from the Tagine I decided on a calzone instead, I’ve never made one before, I vaguely remember seeing a picture of one in a food magazine a few weeks ago, so this is my, not entirely sure if this was the classic way to make a calzone, but it’s my way..

Vegetable and prosciutto calzone:

 

calzone prep

I roasted off the vegetables first, although I’ve faced my aubergine fear by masking it in ras el hanout paste in the tagine  I’m still not brave enough to eat it in chunks unspiced..

So I rolled out the dough, added the veggies..

add veg

piled on some prosciutto and cheese

add cheese and meat

added some garlic butter as an after thought..

and then folded it over into a pasty type shape and brushed it with egg…

forgot basil

I realised I’d forgotten to add basil, so after I’d baked it added a bit more cheese and a few basil leaves..

with cheese

I served it with a couple of hash browns..

baked

It was really nice, I did scald my lip on the molten garlic butter oozing out, but apart from that it was a success..

half

While I was at it, I made a sort of mixed spice, raisin crescent roll

mixed spice croissant

