Tags

, , ,

I paid £3.47 for this miniscule piece, fortunately I don’t have a huge appetite otherwise I’d have been starving.

Many years ago when I worked as a trainee chef in a private hospital, there was a really nice evening meal, it was on the menu every other Wednesday evening if I remember rightly, of poached halibut in a prawn sauce, it crossed my mind the other day for some reason, so I went in search of some halibut, not quite as readily available as I thought it would be, it was tiny, for the price, I’m sure 20 years ago they were bigger and certainly not that expensive..
I paid £3.47 for this miniscule piece, fortunately I don’t have a huge appetite otherwise I’d have been starving.

raw

I’m not quite sure what happened to some of the photos I took of the method, I did take them, but I think my photostream is having a laugh with me and screwing with my head because they were nowhere to be found..

Poached Halibut with a prawn sauce:

I had some frozen tiger prawns that needed using up, they had sadly succumbed to a touch of freezer burn, some mash I’d put in the freezer from the pork shank dinner and the half a pot of cheese sauce I used for the lasagna bake.

halibut prep

I poached the halibut in some water and vermouth for a few minutes, turned off the heat and chucked in the prawns, then left it to stand, with the lid on, while I made the sauce, or should that be opened the pot..

fish

That consisted off half the cheese sauce, a squirt of tomato puree to make it pink, some cooking liquid from the fish and a dollop of creme fraiche, gently heated and then I put the prawns in..

prawn sauce

I added a little instant mash to the defrosted mash just to take out any excess water to make it easier to pipe.

mashed potato

I did some veggies to go with it

veggies

It was really nice, admittedly I was texting while I was eating, which is something I rarely do so I don’t think I appreciated quite as much as if it had my full concentration, If I see halibut again, I’ll buy it, I’m not holding my breath, I’m been trying to get another piece of hake for ages now..

halibut

