Tags

, ,

Despite the piece of duck skin shrinking to almost non existent I coated it in a bit of rosehip jelly my mum had made and put the duck in the oven,

I made this last Tuesday, I’ve only just got round to blogging it, it’s been a hideous week actually,  but I’d  finally remembered to watch Tom Kerridges Gastro pub food programme, coincidentally both him and Jamie did braised lettuce that night..

So this is my version of Toms Duck meal, I had a duck breast in the freezer, so I used that, I also had a slightly wilting little gem lettuce in the fridge, so I was pretty much there anyway..

Duck with potato pancake fritters and braised lettuce:

duck prep

I skinned the duck and put the skin in the oven.
I cooked two potatoes in the microwave, and then lightly cooked the green beans and leeks in there too.

I used the potato flesh for the pancakes and saved the skins

pot skins

I made a thickish batter with plain flour, an egg and a splash of milk and gently folded the potato into it

make batter

I put dollops of the potato batter into the oven

dollop batter

and then I braised the leeks, green beans and lettuce, along with some onion and garlic in butter and a splash of water..

braise veg

Despite the piece of duck skin shrinking to almost non existent I coated it in a bit of rosehip jelly my mum had made and put the duck in the oven, I decided to go for a rarer piece this time round.

pots and duck

The potato pancakes turned out really well..

potato pancakes

as did the braised lettuce..

braised little gem

as for the duck, it was perfect, I added a spoonful of red currant jelly to it..

rare duck

I think it was quite a good interpretation of his gastro meal..

duck with braised lettuce

