Tags

, , ,

I was hoping it would turn out of the basin intact, but prepared for a hideous disaster, it did, there wasn’t, so well chuffed with that..

Not sure why I was so surprised this turned out well, after all I was a chef for 16 years, maybe because I’ve never steamed a pudding before, it was quite easy once I had decided how to go about it..

I marinaded the steak and kidney in red wine, pepper, a star anise and some beef stock over night.

marinade meat

Then the next day I slow cooked it for 3 hours and then made it into the filling by frying off some onion, adding the meat, some flour for a roux and using the cooking stock to finish it off..

filling

I made a suet pastry using 6oz S.R flour and 3oz of beef suet, lined the pudding basin and added the filling.

fill

put a lid on it.

lid

Then I covered it in greaseproof paper, tied it with string, made a little handle so it was easier to lift out of the pan.

cover in paper

I steamed it in a large pan of water, stood on an inverted plate for about an hour..

steam

I was hoping it would turn out of the basin intact, but prepared for a hideous disaster, it did, there wasn’t, so well chuffed with that..

turn out

I served it with roast carrots, a few reheated leftover roast potatoes from the night befores Christmas dinner..

pots and carrots

and mushy peas..

mushy peas

It was bloody amazing, I was really pleased with it, now I know it’s not quite so daunting I shall try my hand at a jam roly poly perhaps..

steak and kidney pud

I froze the other half, I’ll have it later in the week with chips..

