Tags

, , , , , ,

It was a little under baked, it could have done with longer, but I couldn’t be bothered to faff about anymore..
Sorry Paul…

Bloody hell, where did the week go?
I started to compile this on sunday afternoon, and all of a sudden it’s Friday..
I went to my mums Monday and Tuesday then who knows what happened to the rest of the days..

I’ve been looking forward to making this bread for a while now and finally got round to kneading the dough Sunday morning before I took woofboy to the hospital to visit Mr 5.

parker

The ward sister has been very kind and used discretion, common sense and consideration towards our unique case and has allowed Parker to visit on 5 or 6 occasions over the last 5 months, it’s good for both of them..
This was the inspiration for my faux chicken fondue and the bread recipe is from Paul Hollywoods book, the recipe can be found here, it’s the third one down.

bread prep

Pain de savoie fondue:

I made the dough, left it for 3 hours while I went to the hospital, then went to the chippy to get lunch, because I was so hungry, it was the only option..lol

chips

When I got back from walking the dog, in a terrific thunderstorm, the dough had doubled in size, so I knocked it back and proceeded to layer the bread into the tin, Comté is my new favourite cheese…

first layer

Then I left it another couple of hours until it had puffed up more.

risen

Then I baked it for 30 minutes.

cook

It was a little under baked, it could have done with longer, but I couldn’t be bothered to faff about anymore..
Sorry Paul…

slice

So I baked the bit I wanted for a little longer and decided that if I froze the rest I could just reheat it in the oven as and when..

bread

I served it with a cider cheese sauce.

chz sce

That was just cheese slowly melted into heated cider and thickened with corn flour and some salami, chorizo and a few other bits and bobs.

fondue

I really enjoyed that, admittedly it was a bit lacking on the vegetable front, but nothing wrong with something like that for dinner every now and then..

