Tags

, , ,

I went to my Mums on Monday, could be the last time for a while that I’ll be able to do that, so I stayed over night..
After we had been out for an epic scamper I offered to make dinner, again!!
She had some chicken thighs in the fridge, so I decided to use them, even as I was making it I didn’t really know what I was going to do, I came up with

Taco chicken bake:

The Dorito topping was an after thought as it was cooking, I popped round the shop to get a bag, initially just to eat with it..

taco chix bake prep

I cooked the onions and peppers, added the seasoning and then the chicken..

fry chix

Then I put in half a tin of tomatoes.

add toms

added half a tin of mixed chilli taco beans and some water.

add bnz

as it was cooking I was going to boil some rice, but decided on a whim to chuck it into the dish and cook it that way instead.

stir in rice

I put it in the oven with a lid on, if I had the space to store it, I’d buy one of those shallow Le Creuset pans, I really like using them..

and baked it until the rice was done.

with rice

Then I crumbled up the doritos, added some cheese

crushed doritos

and put it back in the oven to melt the cheese.

bake

I thought it turned out rather well considering I really did make it up as I went a long..

taco chix bake

It tasted nice too, washed down with a bottle of wine..

In the morning I took the boy for a scamper on the beach..

sunrise

I wish I could do that every morning, it’s so nice to have an empty head for an hour..

