Tags

, , , , ,

as it was Guy Fawkes night I wanted to take woofboy on an epic scamper in the hope it would knacker him out so much he was too tired to bark at the fireworks all evening, it didn’t and despite a 7 mile yomp he did.

Friday? so soon!!!

On Monday I had left overs, I made a hash using the remaining potato hash browns, the little bit of gnocchi bake I stuck in the fridge and the last bits of cured meat from the Savoie fondue, I added a little bread sauce just to perk it up and it was bloody lovely..

left over hash

On Tuesday I went to Cafe Rouge for lunch on my way back from the hospital, as it was Guy Fawkes night I wanted to take woofboy on an epic scamper in the hope it would knacker him out so much he was too tired to bark at the fireworks all evening, it didn’t and despite a 7 mile yomp he did.

I had a croque Monsieur, it’s my favourite.

croque monsiuer

In the evening I made

Chilli potato skins:

I saved the potato peelings from the hash browns, I deliberately peeled them thickly for this purpose.

chilli skins prep

I put the peelings in the oven to roast and made up a ‘dry chilli’, I fried the mince off with onions, peppers and some seasoning.

add seasoning

and then added some left over taco beans and a dollop of salsa.

mince

I layered the skins into a bowl

potato skins

with chilli, roast peppers and halloumi

add peppers chz

until it was full up..

chilli skins

and then scoffed the lot despite planning on leaving some for the next days lunch.

close skins

I was so hungry though and it was so delicious I couldn’t help myself..

I ended up sat in the kitchen with the tumble dryer, extractor fan and dishwasher running, playing tug with the boy while the Mayors firework display in the park went on, there weren’t actually that many other displays to be heard so it wasn’t quite as traumatic an evening as recent years..

