Tags

, , , ,

but if I had a choice I’d opt for pasta in this kind of dish, it lacked a certain bite..

On Wednesday evening I decided to use the other half of the gnocchi..
This time I did it like the recipes say and blanched the gnocchi before putting it in a creamy, spinach and bacon sauce.

Creamy ham and spinach gnocchi:

I made some garlic bread to go with it, I had a couple of homemade rolls in the freezer for that reason.

g bread

gnocchi crm sce prep

I fried off some bacon, added some frozen spinach and cooked it out.

spinach

Then I added the cream and some cheese and heated it until it had thickened

add cream and chz

and then added the gnocchi which I’d plunged into boiling water for about a minute.

add gnocchi

put it into a dish, added some parmesan and baked it for 10 minutes.

add parmesan

once the bread was done

garlic bread

it was ready

gnocchi cream sauce

I enjoyed it, it was nice and garlicky too, but if I had a choice I’d opt for pasta in this kind of dish, it lacked a certain bite..

gnocchi done

I might try it in a tomato based sauce next time, just to see if it makes any difference and without the bacon, a nice vegetarian meal..

