Tags

, , , ,

and it was gorgeous, a cake disguised as bread, or was it bread disguised as cake.

OMG!!
There is such a thing as ice cream bread, how brilliant is that, I expect everyone else already knew about it and I’m the last to know, but rather a pleasant find nevertheless.
I stumbled across it online, not sure what I was originally looking for, but I’m glad I got waylaid..
I made it this afternoon because it’s been such a dreary day and the house was crying out for the smell of cake..
But it isn’t a cake, not matter how much you expect it to be cake, it’s really bready, which is probably why it tasted so nice smeared with butter..

Apparently this will not work with any low fat/slimming ice cream, it has to be full fat I’m afraid.

Ice cream bread:

ice cream

this it’s too easy to make, so there was no reason not to..

I mixed 2 cups of softened ice cream into 1 3/4 cups of S.R flour and added some cake sprinkles I had knocking about..

Then I greased a loaf tin, sprinkled more sprinkles

sprinkles

I did wonder if I should have softened the ice cream more, so it was runny, but it didn’t seem to matter and gave it a nice rough texture.

batter

I baked it for 35 minutes on 175°.

baked

and it was gorgeous, a cake disguised as bread, or was it bread disguised as cake..

omg ice cream bread

I’m going to experiment with this, I think it would be nice as muffins..

bread

