Tags

, , ,

The brisket was a little dry, probably because I had to turn the oven up to cook the bread, but it didn’t fare too badly..

I had half a piece of brisket in the freezer, I’d used the other half for steak and kidney suet dumplings, this time I decided that I’d get it in the oven with plenty of time to spare, unfortunately  once again this was not to be, I took the boy out on an epic scamper and by the time I got in it was gone 4, so that was an hour less cooking time than I’d anticipated, nevertheless I put it in the oven and hoped for the best..
Because I’d had a roast chicken for lunch at the hospital I decided to have it in a sandwich rather than a full dinner.

brisket

 

I made a loaf of oat and linseed bread from a packet mix I’d grabbed from Morrisons.

bread

It turned out rather well, I thought it might’ve been underbaked.

linseed and oat bread

I made some more butter while I was at it..

butter

The brisket was a little dry, probably because I had to turn the oven up to cook the bread, but it didn’t fare too badly..

meat

I made sort of open sandwiches with some onions and mushrooms..

with mush and onions

and plenty of English mustard and a little manchego cheese.

brisket sarnie

It was really nice, next time I shall try to get the meat in the oven for a long slow cook..

dinner

