Tags

, , , ,

and I forgot mushrooms, so had to make do with these few sad, shrivelled up ones, therefore this is only almost..

I haven’t been shopping properly for ages, I keep popping into Morrisons for the odd few bits and pieces, but Mr 5 is coming home next week so hopefully I’ll get back into a weekly shop routine..
I picked up a piece of filet steak yesterday, I was going to just fry it off and have it with herb butter, but decided to get some cream and make steak Diane, I’ve not had that in years, it’s quite 80’s isn’t it..

It would have been steak Diane had I remembered to put in the worcestershire sauce, but I didn’t until this morning, obviously by then it was too late, I only had wholegrain mustard and I forgot mushrooms, so had to make do with these few sad, shrivelled up ones, therefore this is only almost..

sad mushrooms

Almost steak Diane:

I was just going to do a handful of Mccain french fries to make it simple, but I only had half a handful, so I had to make a few extra, which I go going first.

steak diane prep

I fried the steak for a moment or two, I like mine blue, then I took it off the heat, covered it and left it to rest.

cook steak

I saute some onions in the pan juices to which I’d added more butter, then some garlic, the mushrooms and mustard, added some brandy, which I flamed.

cook onions etc

Then I added some cream and gently cooked it until it thickened..

add cream

I served it with a simple salad and the fries.

fries

and it was delish..

with fries

next time I’ll remember the worcester sauce.

steak with sauce

