Tags

, , ,

I’ve been meaning to make pork and beans for ages, this was a no bother dinner because I pretty much did it all in the oven..

I think I made this on Saturday, I’m a bit thrown out with the days because finally, after 5 and a half months, Mr 5 came home, unfortunately he is, for the time being bed ridden and is pretty much relying on me for everything, the hospital bed hasn’t imposed on the living room too much but the huge quantity of meds he is now on have taken over my one of my food cupboards, which is a bit annoying..
YAY!! I think..
So my whole routine is different and everything is a little bit strange right now, but I’m sure we’ll get into the swing of things once we have both adjusted to what will be quite a rather huge change in our circumstances.

Anyway, Saturday it was just me and I’ve been meaning to make pork and beans for ages, this was a no bother dinner because I pretty much did it all in the oven..

Taco pork and beans:

I used pork belly because it’s cheap and cheerful and really meaty for what it is..

pork and bnz

I put the pork on a bed of onions and peppers with a splash of water and slow roasted it.

pork on pepper

After about 2 1/2 hours, I took it out and removed the rind, which I put back in the oven to crispen up…

cook pork

I added some taco seasoning to the dish.

season

then a can of mixed beans and a small tin of chopped tomatoes.

bnz and toms

Mixed in the pork

mixed

and baked it for another half hour or so..

bake

I served it with some fried flour tortillas, cheese and the crispy crackling

cornchips and crackling

it was gorgeous, really warm and filling..

belly pork and bnz

I froze the left overs for another day, Mr 5 would probably really like this, but technically he is on a low residue diet and isn’t meant to be eating pulses..
But we shall see..

with some chz

