Tags

, , , ,

robbers or not, no one likes a soggy potato..

I first knew this existed when I saw Thiswasdinners, lamb kleftiko post and decide I wanted to have a go at it..

I’ve stolen this snippet of information from her blog too  “Kleftiko, apparently, means stolen lamb. It would be stolen from the flock then cooked in a hole in the ground and covered with so much mud, the steam would not give the thief away.”.

 I didn’t have any mud, so I used the tin foil and baking parchment method.
~ (lay a long strip of foil lengthways, then a long strip widthways. Do the same with baking parchment and wrap the meat in it)
So this is my interpretation of her version of

Lamb Kleftiko:

If you want to do this authentically I’d be inclined to follow her method too..

I didn’t have a leg of lamb as is traditional in this recipe, I had a neck, I’m sure the robbers wouldn’t have minded..

I rubbed an oil, lemon, rosemary, oregano, cinnamon, garlic and seasoned mixture into the lamb.

season lamb

Seasoned some cut up red potatoes and red onions..

season potatoes

put the lamb on top..

lamb in paper

Scrunched the paper up to prevent steam leakage, didn’t want the robbers knocking on my door, and baked it in the oven on about 150 for 3 hours or so..

I just got it before the potatoes disintegrated..

cook lamb

Then I browned off the rather insipid looking potatoes, robbers or not, no one likes a soggy potato..

cooked potatoes

and the meat..

brown lamb

and it was done, I liked the cooking method on this one, I might do something else using it..

lamb and pots

It was very nice, moist and tasty, so thumbs up for that one..

