Tags

, , ,

in fact I didn’t have enough sugar or cranberries either, I did have half a bottle of red wine though, so I decide my best bet was to wing it..

I don’t normally get into the christmas spirit until at least two weeks into December, otherwise I’m sick of it before it’s started but because I wanted to make chutney I decided to start a little earlier..

While I made this I also made a steak and kidney lattice pie but to be honest I had been in the kitchen faffing about all afternoon by the time it came to assembling it I had all but given up caring, so instead of this having it’s own post, it get’s a bit part in this one, so much for the christmas spirit..

I cooked off some kidney and beef skirt, made a gravy and slow cooked it for about 3 hours..

s and k

Then I stuck it in a pie dish and half heartedly plonked on a suet lattice topping..

lattice top

Baked it a bit more then served it with veg and potatoes..

dinner

doesn’t look like the most appetising of dinners but it was bloody gorgeous..

So moving on to the main course, as it were..

Spicy red onion and plum chutney:

Initially I was going to use this recipe from the BBC good food website , but as usual I didn’t bother to read the quantities, so instead of using 750 ml red wine vinegar I had about 150ml white wine vinegar, in fact I didn’t have enough sugar or cranberries either, I did have half a bottle of red wine though, so I decide my best bet was to wing it..

chutney prep

I chucked all the spices into a pan, added the vinegar I had, the red wine and as much sugar as I could find in the house, about 200g of both white and brown I think I ended up with, then I started halving, stoning and chopping up the plums..

yawn……
How boring was that, I only did half of them and compensated by adding more onions, then I realised I shouldn’t have added the sugar yet, but forged on nethertheless..

chop everything up

I boiled it all down

simmer down

it was a tad spicy, actually it was quite a lot spicy so I added a good spoonful of honey to round it off

chutney x3

and it didn’t turn out too badly actually, I’ve set it aside for the suggested two weeks and hopefully it’ll be even more lovely when it’s matured..

close

let’s hope so because that’s two christmas presents there..

