Tags

, , , ,

while the duck was slowly cooking, I made ice cream bread, choc chip and toffee vodka muffins, it’s too easy not to bother…

This was Saturday evenings dinner, I didn’t have a clue what to do with the duck legs, I don’t think I even bought them with a purpose in mind, but as I had some plums left over from the plum and onion chutney I decided to use them up..

Duck legs with a plum and onion ‘jam’.

duck prep

I browned the duck in a pan, without oil, they didn’t need it..

brown thighs

Then I took them out, threw in some fennel, caraway and mustard seed, both black and white, then sauteed some red onions in the fat, put the duck legs back in, added some thyme, halved plums and a hefty glug of red wine..

add plums

Seasoned them and put them in the oven, lid on for an hour on a lowish heat, until they looked like this..

cook slowly

I took them out of the pan and left them to rest, added a splish of water to the pan just to slightly thin the ‘jam’

duck plum sauce

and served them with roast new potatoes, braised cabbage, leek and broad beans..

with pots and veg

I really enjoyed it, Mr 5 scraped the plum and onions off of his, I just rolled my eyes..

while the duck was slowly cooking, I made ice cream bread, choc chip and toffee vodka muffins, it’s too easy not to bother…

icecream bread

