Tags

, , , , ,

One day last week or the week before I had an idea that Mr 5 and I really ought to try and go meat free one day a week, I can’t remember why, but I bought some quorn to make a start,

This week I have been mostly trying to get into the Christmas spirit, unfortunately the three most hated things I can think of to do, ever are, writing out Christmas cards, decorating the tree, despite it being a tiny one this year and wrapping presents up, I’m actually not bad at the latter, I just can’t seem to motivate myself to do a particularly brilliant job, I always lose the scissors and get dog hairs on the sellotape, nevertheless, I have done all 3 now and bought the stamps and posted them..
I’d much prefer to be making sausage rolls and other Christmassy fare, but that’ll have to wait til next week..

One day last week I had an idea that Mr 5 and I really ought to try and go meat free one day a week, I can’t remember why, I doubt I’ll manage to maintain it, but I bought some quorn to make a start, knowing I’d have to ease Mr 5 into quorn I thought I’d start off adding it to meat..lol

It’s not something I’ve had before, I got some ‘in the style’ of chicken, split it in two, froze half and this was my first attempt at using it..

I had some ham leftover from the gammon shank dinner the other week which I’d put in the freezer for this reason and then bought some puff pastry, two for a pound, it was daft not to, so on Tuesday, we had

Ham and quorn pie:

quorn pie prep

I sweated off some leeks and mushrooms, added the quorn and ham

sweat leeks

made a roux and used some stock to make a sauce, to which I added a little milk..

add stock

I made a pastry lid and for ease just put it over the pie filling in the dish..

lid

and then I baked it until the pastry was done..

bake

I told Mr 5 it was quorn after he’s started to eat it, so he couldn’t then say he didn’t like it just because of what it was..

pie done 2

It’s certainly a contender for a meatfree dinner, I shall use the other half in a curry, I thought it was nice, and a good texture and flavour..

pie done1

I served it with veg..

with veg

on wednesday, I cheated, I’d been out last minute Christmas shopping and decided to pop into Mark’s..

mand s

Mr 5 specifically requested this, we have it a couple of times a year, I don’t really like Chinese take away food, it’s too salty and sweet at the same time, this was a compromise..

chinese

I liked it too.. very filling..

