Tags

, , , , ,

I baked it and ended up with the most delicious tasting misshapen blob ever, so it just goes to show, under or over, doesn’t really make any difference to the end result..

On Friday I finally made rock buns that turned out looking like rock buns, it’s surprising because last December I claimed I couldn’t get my head round the baking thing, but I think I have….

rock buns

I’m rather pleased about that actually, these were choc chip rather than raisins.

I’ve been meaning to make a loaf of challah bread since I saw an image of one while looking for something else, as ever I was an egg short, but it didn’t seem to matter, I used this recipe because it had a braiding technique with it, subsequently a 6 braid looked far too complicated for a beginner like me, so I watched a four strand on youtube and found the under, under, over, over, crisscross method fairly simple to understand..

I started off by braising steak and kidney for baked suet dumplings for dinner, Mr 5 hasn’t had them yet and expressed an interest..

As I was making the dough for the bread I decided to make some soda bread for lunch, this was my best ever yet, perhaps because I used 1/2 fat creme fraiche or maybe because I just put the ingredients on the work top and mixed in that way, whatever, it was lovely..

white soda bread

We had it with cheese and my homemade plum and onion chutney

cheese and chutney

I also decided to have a go at some water biscuits, I just mixed some oil into some flour then added water,
rolled it out thinly, pricked it all over with a fork and cut out rounds..

salt

I had no idea if they would do anything so I just sprinkled them with salt and baked them..

baked

they looked a bit iffy, but quite surprised that they were quite so delicious, I’m going to do them again but with more thought and seeds next time..

water biscuits

Once the dough had risen, I knocked it back and proceeded to braid it..

braid

I don’t think it turned out too badly, I put it to the side to rise some more..

braided

anyway, it rose and rose and began to lose it’s shape, by the time I’d egg washed it, it was looking rather deflated..

rise

Fortunately a facebook friend knows about this sort of thing and gave me this advice, which I shall adhere to next time

“do the braid a bit looser. it will keep its shape better.. don’t tighten it up soo much. you will see a better result. i used to do that as a living.. you have to leave room between the stands to raise.”

I baked it and ended up with the most delicious tasting misshapen blob ever

blob

so it just goes to show, under or over, doesn’t really make any difference to the end result..
it was absolutely yummy..

bread

and the suet dumplings, well they were equally delicious..

suet dumpling

