Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t make biscuits, no matter what recipe I pick, whether I chill the dough or not, or use loads of flour, they still end up stuck to the work top when I roll and cut them and it all becomes a hideous mess

I want to make faggots, and for those of you who don’t know what they are.

“Faggots are a traditional dish in the UK, especially South and Mid Wales and the Midlands of England. It is made from meat off-cuts and offal, especially pork.
A faggot is traditionally made from pig’s heart, liver and fatty belly meat or bacon minced together, with herbs added for flavouring and sometimes bread crumbs.”

But I’ve never got round to it mainly because I don’t have a mincer, I’m not sure if that’ll be a problem, it’s something I’ll have to look into, so I did the next best thing and bought Mr Brains faggots.

brains

Seeing as I wasn’t really cooking dinner I took the opportunity to bake some biscuits and savouries while the faggots were heating up.

I can’t make biscuits, no matter what recipe I pick, whether I chill the dough or not, or use loads of flour, they still end up stuck to the work top when I roll and cut them and it all becomes a hideous mess but I shan’t be beaten, this time round I decided not to roll and cut them out, but just dollop it on to a baking sheet..

dough

So these are my “can’t make biscuits” biscuits.
4oz butter rubbed into 8oz S.R flour along with 4oz caster sugar, add some mixed spice and vanilla essence, add an egg then mix together, blob on a baking sheet, sprinkle on some brown sugar and cook on 160 for 12-15 minutes or until brown.

baked sisc

and it worked a treat, the biscuits were fat though, next time I might squash the dollops down with a spoon, but apart from that, they are lovely.

biscuits

While I was at it I used up a sheet of puff pastry and made some marmite and cheese roll ups..

I smeared marmite, as best i could over the pastry.

marmite

added grated cheddar and parmesan

chz

rolled it up and cut it into slices..

roll up

Brushed them with egg and sprinkled parmesan over them and baked them until they were done.

marmite and chz bites

Bloody lovely, taste like cheesy twiglets..

So back to dinner, I made a cauliflower and veg cheese

veggies

using broad beans, peppers,leek and tomato with a breadcrumb topping.

veg bake

and a little extra gravy..

extra gravy

and some boiled potatoes and the whole thing was lovely..

dinner

So even if I never get round to making my own, there are always Mr Brains..

