Tags

, , ,

Happy New Year, and all that jazz, I’m hoping this year is an improvement on last’s, that was a pretty rubbish one all round really..

Blimey, it’s been a while, had an unplanned blog break and then found it difficult to reapply myself, but I made an effort and am attempting to think of more 365 dishes to do..

Happy New Year, and all that jazz, I’m hoping this year is an improvement on last’s, that was a pretty rubbish one all round really..

So I’m starting the year with a warming,

Braised beef chilli and mozzarella dumplings:

not just because it’s Miserable and January, but because I’ve not been shopping properly and a piece of beef skirt was pretty much all that was left in the freezer.

chilli prep

I braised the skirt whole for about 4 hours on a low heat.

Then I made a chilli sauce with the stock, half a tin of tomatoes and kidney beans, some peppers and a packet chilli mix, to which I added the shredded meat.

add meat

I made a 4oz SR flour/ 2oz veg suet dumpling mix to which I added a little chilli and molded the round a cube of mozzarella

mozz

put them on top of the casserole

add dumplings

and baked them, lid off for 20 minutes in a medium hot oven

bake for 20

It was lovely, and the cheese oozed out of the dumplings..

chilli beef dumplings

We had a few corn chips too..

cornchips

Delicious..

