Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’d have been quite happy to have gone vegetarian and just had the quorn,

I had half a pack of quorn and one chicken breast in the freezer and an idea to combine two dishes I’ve been meaning to make but never got round to them, Butter chicken and Methi chicken, so this is a fusion of the two, which is probably unlike either, nevertheless it was gorgeous, lovely and creamy, fragrantly spicy and not so hot it masked the flavours, despite the fact I didn’t marinate anything like it says in the varies recipes I looked at..

Butter Methi Chicken and Quorn:

I popped into Morrisons to get the papers and picked up some barjis, pakoras and samosa just to go with it, oh and some prepared rice on account of laziness.

methi prep

I roasted the spices in a pan then ground them up, fried them in ghee with onion, ginger, turmeric, garlic and a little chilli.

spices

I added the chicken and quorn which I’d sprinkled with garam masala, cumin and turmeric

add chix quorn

and the browned the lot off..

brown

Then I added a little water to make a sort of paste to which I added yogurt.

yog

I gently cooked it out, added some ghee and cream and then 5 minutes prior to serving, some garam masala and fenugreek..

funugreek

and it was done, I’d have been quite happy to have gone vegetarian and just had the quorn, I’m buying some more anyway, I rather like it..

methi chix

We had naan, some Kachumber and the savouries.

rice,pakora

