Tags

, , , , ,

Paul Hollywoods advice on how to make a crusty loaf…
…mine went soft after about 5 minutes out of the oven

I popped into Lidl on the way from from Tesco, it only opened just before christmas so I have been going into see if they have anything unusual and came out with some cooked crayfish tails, which were unusual as I’ve never seen them to buy before, so I thought I’d get some and make a chowder..

I also had another go a plaiting at loaf of bread after my dismal attempt at a Challah loaf.
I was quite pleased with the plait result this time round; I used a crusty white loaf packet mix I’d bought on a whim, except, despite the packet claim and Paul Hollywoods advice on how to make a crusty loaf,

“place a baking tray filled with water on the bottom shelf of the oven – this will create steam when the loaf is baking.”

mine went soft after about 5 minutes out of the oven, I don’t know why it doesn’t work for me, I shall just have to keep trying.

Crayfish tail chowder:

crayfish chowder prep

I sweated off some onion, added some bacon, cooked that and then added leek, a little diced pepper and some paprika.

add veg

then added the peeled, diced potatoes.

add pots

topped it up with water

add water

and simmered it until the potatoes had softened and started to thicken the soup stirred in some cream

add cream

Then added the cooked fish.

add fish

I served mine with a little paprika and quite a bit of parmesan

with parm

it was bloody lovely..

chowder

The bread, although no longer crusty was delicious too..

bread

Thoroughly enjoyed that..

