Tags

, ,

I’m not often really pleased with myself, but these were brilliant even if I say so myself.. 

Having reminded myself of how lovely Faggots are and following the success of my Pork and liver terrine I decided that I would make my own, fortunately I was able to not only get pigs liver and kidney, but also some heart which would make them even more lovely..

Homemade pork faggots:

faggot prep

I blitzed the heart, kidney, liver and bacon one at a time in my food processor, then mixed everything together with some made up paxo stuffing and some fresh bread crumbs, onion, seasoning and parsley so it all held together fairly loosely ..
I molded four large balls which I placed on a bed of sliced onions

shape

I poured over some gravy, I cheated and used a pork and sage Colemans mix with a little beef gravy one and blackjack to darken.

cover in gravy

Then I baked them in the oven, covered in foil, turning them twice, for about 40 minutes.

baked

I served them with jacket potatoes and braised green veg.

jackets

What can I say, I think I surpassed myself with those, not only were they far easier to make than I’d previously thought, mine were far better and tastier than Mr. Brains, the texture was perfect, not too crumbly nor dense and the gravy was just right in flavour for them, I’m not often really pleased with myself, but these were brilliant even if I say so myself..

faggots

