Tags

, , , , ,

although quorn has less fat than mince, it does have a high sodium content, so lentils would be a far better option,

I bought some minced quorn, mostly because it’s different and I just wanted to see what it was like, if I were vegetarian I wouldn’t be eating something that looked like meat and as health benefits go, although quorn has less fat than mince, it does have a high sodium content, so lentils would be a far better option, therefore this is just for a change and not for any other reason..

I only used a third of it for this dish, so it was cheaper than mince, tasted no different in my opinion either

Quorn sloppy joe, deep pan style pizza:

quorn sloppy joe prep

I made up some dough using the same recipe I’d used for the last deep pan pizza I’d made..

and left it to rise for about 3 hours, then I knocked it back and stretched it into a dish..

dough

I also made some scones while I was at it, using Paul Hollywoods method..
They turned out beautifully.

scones

in the meantime I par boiled potatoes for hash browns and softened some onions, peppers and tomato along with some taco seasoning.

sweat peppers

added the quorn and some passata and simmered it until it was a bit thicker then spooned it onto the dough and added some mozzarella.

add chz

baked it for about 40 minutes

sloppy joe pizza

served it with coleslaw

slaw

some homemade hashbrowns

hash browns

and it was very nice, if I hadn’t of told mr 5 it wasn’t meat I don’t think he’d have known.

joe cut

I saved myself some to have cold for lunch the next day.. yummy..

