Tags

, , , ,

slices of my best ever yet soda bread, it really was delightful even if I say so myself.

I bought some bacon ribs for Mr 5, I knew he’d be mortified if his weren’t plain boiled and served with potato and cabbage, so that is what he had..

ribs

With slices of my best ever yet soda bread, it really was delightful even if I say so myself.

soda bread

it was soft and almost cake like inside, the colour and texture was perfect and the crust even more so..
it was a simple recipe too, 200g flour, 10g bicarb, 10g salt and a 100g pot off two week out of date creme fraiche, mixed together and baked fro 10 mins on 220 and then for 20 minutes on 180..

bread

I decided I’d prefer

Bacon and lentil soup:

lentil and bacon soup prep

I put the ribs on to boil, two hours in all, then I sweated off some onions, added some peppers and the lentils..

cook lentils

seasoned them and then added some water and let them simmer, I also added a large dollop of left over turkey gravy I had in the fridge, then regularly stirred the lentils and topped them up with the bacon water (without the gravy, and using just water this would be a perfect vegetarian soup)

add stock

and left it to simmer until the bread and ribs were done, I added half the rib meat to the lentils..

bacon

Cooked it for a short while more and then served it with the bread..

lentil and bacon soup

it was well yummy,I really did enjoy that..

soup

and I used the left over soda bread for Sunday breakfast..

sunday breakfast

