Tags

, , , , , ,

this is the second tart tatin I’ve made, I really must do an apple one sometime soon.

Since christmas it’s seems like someone has stolen 4 or 5 hours from each day, I wake up, care for Mr 5, which is actually really time consuming now he is bedridden, take woofboy out a couple of times, one I try to make at least an hour and half, just to tire him out so he doesn’t bugger about all evening, then it’s time to make dinner, the evening whizzes by and then it’s bed time..
I just don’t seem to have as much time to blog as I did, oh well, It’s not going anywhere and I always have to eat, so this is Sundays dinner, albeit a little late in the week..

Sea bass en papillote with a pepper tart tatin:

En papillote (French for “in parchment”), or al cartoccio in Italian, is a method of cooking in which the food is put into a folded pouch or parcel and then baked.”

This looked really quite impressive, but was a cinch to make..

seabass prep

this is the second tart tatin I’ve made, I really must do an apple one sometime soon.
I popped the onions and peppers into a pan with some oil and cooked them in the oven until brown and yummy, the original is here.

caramelize veg

Then I put a puff pastry round on top, brushed it with a little milk and baked it until the pastry was brown, I lightly browned the sea bass in the same pan and then popped it onto a heap of spinach, lemon and seasoned it and onto a round of baking parchment

seabass on spinach

Wrapped each parcel up

wrap fish

that cooked in the oven for about 10 minutes, as long as it took for some mozzarella and tomato to gently cook after I’d inverted the tart tatin

invert tart

When the fish was ready I just cut open the parcels

cut open

and served it with the pastry tart.

sea bass and tart

really rather delicious, and a different way to cook..

